UA Teachers Receive Award as “Mayap A Talaturu” on World Teachers’ Day

University of the Assumption is proud of its teachers in the grade school and junior high school who were awarded as “Mayap a Talaturu” during the World Teachers’ Day celebration organized by the Association of Private School Administrators (APSA) in Region 3. It was held on October 6, 2017 at Christ in You Sanctuary, City of San Fernando Pampanga.

The awardees from UAJHS were Mrs. Alona Manabat, Mr. Aurelio Garcia, and Mr. Roberto Yco; and
from the UAGS were Mrs. Ruth C. Intal, Mrs. Amira P. Maniacup, and Mrs. Roselyn G. Cruz.

“It’s very fulfilling. It’s a long awaited award. In my 31 years in service, I am grateful to finally have one. This gives us inspiration to continue doing what we love most,” Intal said

Intal clarified that citations are good but what really is worthwhile in being a teacher is seeing former students successful in their careers. “As teachers, our utmost concern is the welfare of our pupils, what they will learn from us, instead of us thinking what to gain in the profession.”

Manabat also shared some words of advice for her fellow educators. “I hope that they would take care of their health, continue studying, and always be humble. Wherever you are, whatever you will be, whether you become an ordinary teacher or somebody who will be assigned to key positions, you will still meet the same people from the very time you started until the time you are going to retire,”

Ms. Jennifer Gonzales, UAGS principal, added that the teachers indeed deserved to be recipients of the said award.

“Our teachers are very devoted. They are generous givers when it comes to the pupils. They are not only ‘biasa’ (intelligent) but are very compassionate in rendering their service. They give so much more than what is expected from them,” said Gonzales.

APSA’s ‘Mayap a Talaturu’, according to Ms. EditaSagmit – UAJHS principal, paves a way for a good reflection of how UA teachers devote themselves for the welfare of the students.

“It is the respect that we give to someone who received the award. It becomes a brand new inspiration for the awardee. It clearly shows how much we value and show appreciation to our teachers,” shared Sagmit.

Mostly delegated by private school teachers in the CSFP, the annual gathering was organized by the Association of Private School Administrators Department of Education Region 3 to celebrate and highlight the contributions of teachers to the education and development of future citizens as well as to motivate the teachers to strive for excellence.

The “Mayap a Talaturu” awarding is held annually since 1994 in a global scale.


  • Was this Helpful ?
  • yes   no